Alison Johnstone MSP Lodges motion in support of the Opposing War Memorial: to be debated Wednesday 5 December.

alison-johnstone-chamber-picAlison Johnstone MSP (Co-Convenor Scottish Greens) has lodged a motion in support of the Opposing War Memorial which has been signed by a 18 MSPs and will be debated just after 5pm Wednesday 5 December.
Speaking on behalf of the Opposing War Memorial Brian Larkin, Coordinator of the Edinburgh Peace & Justice Centre said: “We are delighted that Alison Johnstone has lodged this motion in support of the Memorial to Conscientious Objectors and all who oppose war and that so many MSPs have signed on to voice their support for the values of tolerance and peace that the Memorial will represent in our public space and for a world without war.”
Please come along to Scottish Parliament to the debate.  It is best to arrive by 4:30pm to allow time to pass through security and registration.
Here is the text of the Motion:
Motion S5M-14915: Alison Johnstone, Lothian, Scottish Green Party, Date Lodged: 26/11/2018 : Remembering Conscientious Objectors
That the Parliament notes the proposal by the Edinburgh Peace and Justice Centre for a memorial to conscientious objectors and all who oppose war; further notes that the Transport and Environment Committee of the City of Edinburgh Council has approved the proposal for this memorial, which would be located in Princes St Gardens; believes that such a memorial would provide an important opportunity for people to reflect on the value of peacemakers around the world, as well as on the bravery of conscientious objectors during the First World War and what it considers their inhumane treatment by the government; congratulates the Edinburgh Peace and Justice Centre on its work on this project, and wishes it well with its crowdfunder to raise money to create the memorial.
Supported by: Mark Ruskell, John Finnie, Patrick Harvie, Ross Greer, Bill Kidd, John Mason, Richard Lyle, Rona Mackay, Angela Constance, Alex Cole-Hamilton, Mark McDonald, Claudia Beamish, Emma Harper, Sandra White, Andy Wightman, Pauline McNeill, Bob Doris, Neil Findlay.
We encourage supporters of the Memorial to thank Alison Johnstone for lodging the motion. If your MSPs (list and Regional – remember you have 7 of them!) have signed please thank them for their support.
If your MSPs have not signed please email and ask them to do so.
 To send emails go to: Include the Motion number and name above.
The Opposing War Memorial will be dedicated to all Conscientious Objectors, those of the past, present, and future. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s